Search This Site

Textual description of firstImageUrl
Textual description of firstImageUrl
Textual description of firstImageUrl
Textual description of firstImageUrl

Lesson 1.9 - Major Scales

In Grade 1 ABRSM Theory there are only four keys / scales that you need to know: C, G, D and F major. In Grade 1 Trinity Theory you will not need D major, but it is included in this lesson to cover all basses.

The "Key Signature" is the sharps or flats that appear in that key / scale and these are written at the beginning of the stave just after the clef sign. Below is the scale of C major.

Notice the letter S written between two pairs of notes in the above scale. These mark the "semitones" which are always between the 3rd/4th and the 7th/8th notes of any major scale as you go up.
Notice too that there are no sharps or flats in the scale of C major so no key signature appears next to the clef sign.

The same is not true for G major 

In order to keep the semitones between the 3rd/4th and 7th/8th notes an F sharp needed to be added. Normally this F sharp is written as a key signature next to the clef sign.

Notice also how the key signature looks in the bass clef. In both cases the key signature comes after the clef, but before the time signature. It must also be remembered which line or space the key signature is written on. For example, there is an F on the top line as well as the bottom space of the treble clef. However a key signature of F sharp ALWAYS uses the top line.

Using the same rule, that semitones occur between the 3rd/4th and 7th/8th notes, the scale of D major would have an F sharp and a C sharp.

...and the key signature would look like this

Notice here how the F sharp is written just before the C sharp.

Download a worksheet for this lesson HERE

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments with external links not accepted and WILL BE DELETED